September 1, 2005

  • Tell me your dreams…

    “If you dreamed of kissing your high-school boyfriend, you probably have desire to awaken lost passions. Kissing another is often wish fulfillment. The wish may not be to kiss
    per se, but to experience the youthful energy of love. Kissing in this
    sense is the desire for the awakening of passion, not necessarily the
    passion acted out.”

    That’s what I got from a quiz I just took. No, I didn’t dream of kissing a high-school lover. I HAD a similar dream last nite which made me think about the concept of dreaming. Dr. Freud thought dreams represented unfulfilled wishes. Carl Jung thought a dream was “the small hidden
    door in the deepest & most intimate sanctum of the soul.”
    But modern researchers regard them as repeated bursts of
    electrical activity from the primitive brain, random stimuli that the
    brain transposes into bizarre images. Another idea is that dreams are simply psychological garbage. But then I remembered….

    I
    dare to say that I have this one particular dream over and over again.
    Although the stories & settings are different one from the other,
    but in those dreams I always seemed to be running away from something,
    or to be more precise, something/one is always chasing me.
    & the odd thing is it was more like watching a movie (sometimes
    drama, action, love, thriller, or often horror genre) rather than
    dreaming. I wasn’t me & all the people in the dream, never know or
    met them in my entire life! When I said I wasn’t me, I meant it. I
    could be a man in a kung-fu suit, a sexy woman like Asia Argento (I
    wish! ) or an Italian mobster.

    There’s
    one where I, who wasn’t me in physical appearance, was chased by a
    giant demon. I jumped into a deep & dark lake & swam as fast as
    I could. But the demon was still tailing me. Getting closer &
    closer. Just when he (I assumed a demon is a he )
    was about to grab my legs, I woke up. It’s always like that. I never
    got the chance to see how the “movie” would’ve ended. Often I couldn’t
    even remember how the dream went.

    See?!
    How odd can a dream possibly be? What does it mean? Does any dream
    always have its own meaning? Who’s chasing me? What is it that I’m
    running away from? Hmm… Maybe there’s a hot hunk out there who’s
    still hasn’t give up on me… What do you think? Should I listen to Freud & Jung or should I just throw my dreams away into the garbage side of my brain?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *